h1

3.1 Patch Notes: Professions and Paladins

April 14, 2009

OMGZ Its Patch Day *flails* Everyone is sitting around bored waiting for the servers to come up and I’m no different. So I read the patch notes a couple times.

Oh Patch Notes… you read them constantly, everyone posts about them, so I thought I’d post a condensed version based on things I’m excited about. It took me about 20  minutes to read through the entire list (Not counting the million times Hid distracted me from reading about the changes to Aura Mastery *shakes fist*). We’ve still got about 3 hours until the patch hits anyway, you need to read more, you junkies!

Everyone has read countless things on Ulduar and NannerShoulders wrote up an excellent guide to the Argent Tournament, so I’ll skip those. Countless posts have been made on Duel-Speccing and to be honest I don’t even really need to do it (though it gives an Achievement… those bastards!) so I won’t beat that horse any longer. I’m excited about Noble Garden as well (Woo! New Achievements!) but I can post about that later. I haven’t seen a lot on Profession changes, so I want to talk about that first… because I’m really more excited about the Fishing Daily than the new Paladin Glyphs >.>

Alchemy

  • All flasks now last 1 hour. To compensate, all flask recipes will provide 2 flasks for the same material cost.
  • Flasks now stack to 20, and their vendor sell prices have been reduced to lower the Auction House deposits.
  • Northrend flasks will be converted to mixtures. This includes the Flask of Stoneblood, Flask of Pure Mojo, Flask of Endless Rage, and Flask of the Frost Wyrm. Mixtures can create 2 flasks of the corresponding type. This allows players who stockpiled Northrend flasks to convert them to the new system without any loss.
  • You can now sometimes find Alchemist’s Caches from bosses in Ulduar. Only players with an Alchemy skill of 425 or higher can loot these secret caches.

I’m not an alchemist on my Paladin, but my little Rogue is maxed out and supplies all my flasks and pots (not that I ever use them). I think the idea of an Alchemist’s Cache is really neat though, so I’m excited for my Raiding Alchemists to get some of those.

Herbalism

  • Find Herbs no longer tracks Glowcaps.
  • Northrend herbs now yield more herbs on average.
  • The herbalism requirement for gathering Tiger Lily has been reduced to 375.
  • Lifeblood now has level requirements equal to the level required for the corresponding skill rank: Apprentice (1), Journeyman (1), Expert (10), Artisan (25), Master (40), Grand Master (55).
  • You can no longer fail when Herbing.
  • The time it takes to gather herbs has been reduced.

Pretty cut and dry here. I’m interested to see how fast I pick an herb now and how many drop. Looks like this made it easier to level my favorite gathering profession, but the others got similar buffs as well.

Inscription

  • Added a recipe to trainers for creating a level 70 superior-quality off-hand item.
  • Added a recipe for creating a different level 70 superior-quality off-hand item. Scribes will find the recipe is dropped from residents of Silverbrook.
  • Added around 50 new glyph recipes. These new recipes can be obtained from Books of Glyph Mastery found as world drops on Northrend monsters. Reading a Book of Glyph Mastery randomly discovers one of the newly-added recipes.
  • Glyph icons have been updated so it is easy to distinguish between classes.
  • Players will now learn 3 recipes the very first time they perform Northrend Inscription Research. This does not apply to players who have already discovered recipes from Northrend Inscription Research (sorry).

Ha! The little pathetic looking (sorry) at the end of that made me laugh. Inscription is still looking pretty dull. I’m glad I have it for my over-powered Shoulder Enchant, but thats about it. The wording on how to get the new glyphs is strange, I wonder if you just have to wait for them all to drop or if you get them from research as well? I’m kinda dreading having to discover ALL of those new Glyphs also. Northrend Research is so expensive to do! I’m still wondering why they decided to not allow us to make those portable Lexicons that I was excited about…

  • Applying a glyph no longer requires a Lexicon of Power. The same rules for switching between dual talent specializations now apply to switching glyphs and cannot be performed while in combat, Battlegrounds (except when Preparation is up), or Arenas (no exceptions).

..Oh.. well hmph! Honestly I think this change is kind of… well stupid. So what are all those floating books going to be used for? Maybe they’ll just be gone! Moving on to my two favorite professions (and Lae’s as well).

Cooking

  • A new recipe has been added to cooking trainers for making Black Jelly, using several Borean Man ‘O War as ingredients. While it looks disgusting, it restores more health and mana than the highest level food.
  • Flint and Tinder is no longer necessary for creating a campfire. You’re just that resourceful!
  • Grub now sells the Dig Rat Stew recipe to players who completed the quest.
  • Ingredients such as Spices, Apples, and the like have been removed from most cooking recipes.
  • Players no longer need to complete the Clamlette Surprise quest to gain Artisan cooking. The quest now offers the unique recipe, Clamlette Magnifique. If you already completed the quest, you can visit Dirge Quickcleave in Gadgetzan to learn this recipe (for free).
  • Prospector Khazgorm, found in Bael Modan in southern Barrens, now sells the recipe for Dig Rat Stew to the Alliance.
  • Several Northrend recipes were given greater skill up ranges to make it easier to reach 450 cooking skill.
  • You no longer need to learn cooking from books. The trainers have finally done their reading and are able to teach you the same thing.

Fishing

  • A new (and very rare) special mount can now be caught from Northrend fishing pools.
  • New fishing dailies are now offered from Marcia Chase in Dalaran City!
  • Players are no longer required to do the Nat Pagle, Angler Extreme quest to gain Artisan fishing. The quest now offers a special superior-quality fishing pole instead. If you already completed the quest, you can visit Nat Pagle in Dustwallow Marsh to receive this new fishing pole.
  • The time needed to catch fish has been reduced.
  • You can now fish anywhere, regardless of skill. Every catch has the potential for fishing skill gains, but you are likely to catch worthless junk in areas that are too difficult for your skill.
  • You can now fish in Wintergrasp, and the fishin’ is good!
  • You no longer need to learn fishing from books. The trainers have finally done their reading and are able to teach you the same thing.

First of all… NEW FISHING DAILY! Wewt. They didn’t really say much about it but never fear! El’s Anglin’ was on the case as usual and I went over there to get the lowdown. That jeweled fishing pole has Paladin written all over it and oh yes… she will be mine. I really like the Bone Pole too (wow… they need a better name for that) and am kinda glad I don’t have the Kalu’ak Pole now, I always thought it was unsightly. The other rare rewards are slightly disappointing since they are just reused from the old daily, but there are a lot of new common items that I think might be cool and of course a new pet will keep all us feesh-lovers busy with this for awhile.

I’m really excited actually about the changes to fishing and I’m quite curious about this fishing pole Nat Pagle has for me. The cooking changes aren’t anything super exciting, though I am glad I saved up all my Borean Man ‘O War to use for some makeshift Mana Streudals. I think at least a few hours of my day will be spent running around to the old world vendors/quest givers to pick up those new recipes. Again, more changes to make leveling these two professions easier, no more books, no more quests. Not to mention you can fish ANYWHERE and get skillups! I wonder what they mean by worthless junk…

Speaking of worthless junk… since this is a Paladin Blog I should go ahead and list the Paladin changes, though I must admit they aren’t anything you haven’t already heard nor are they anything exciting. I know you’re coming down from your high about that Tiffany Fishing Pole, so I’ll slap the Pally Talk under a cut:

Paladin

  • Auras will now persist through death and affect a 40 yard radius.
  • Blessing of Kings is now trainable at level 20. Removed from talent trees.
  • Divine Plea can once again be dispelled.
  • Exorcism: Now can be used on any target and has a 100% chance to be a critical strike when used on Undead and Demons.
  • Hand of Sacrifice: The damage transferred by this ability is now capped by the paladin’s health.
  • Forbearance reduced to a 2-minute duration.
  • Sacred Shield: This effect cannot be cast on more than one friendly target at a time.
  • Spiritual Attunement: Removed from trainers. It is now available deep in the Protection tree for 2 ranks at 5/10%.
  • Aura Mastery: Now grants anyone affected by Concentration Aura immunity from Interrupt and Silence mechanics, and increases the effectiveness of all other auras by 100%. Lasts 10 seconds. 2-minute cooldown.
  • Blessed Hands: Now reduces mana cost of Hand of Freedom, Sacrifice and Salvation by 15/30%, and improves the effectiveness of Hand of Salvation by 50/100% and Hand of Sacrifice by an additional 5/10%. Moved to tier-4.
  • Enlightened Judgements: No longer increases the range of Judgement of Justice. Moved to tier-10.
  • Improved Concentration Aura: The resistance to Silence and Interrupt mechanics granted by this talent now becomes active when any Aura is used, not just Concentration Aura.
  • Infusion of Light: Now increases the critical chance of your next Holy Light by 10/20% instead of reducing cast time. Moved to tier-10.
  • Judgements of the Pure moved to tier-9.
  • Pure of Heart: Now reduces duration of all curse, disease, and poison effects by 15/30%.
  • Purifying Power: Now reduces the cooldowns of Exorcism and Holy Wrath by 17/33% instead of increasing critical strike chance.
  • Sacred Cleansing moved to tier-8.

Same old same here… nothing truly exciting to be honest. A few nerfs to our uber_nuking Holy Light (No more GoHL crits, no more 0.7 second Holy Light) and a little bit of a bummer for the nerf to Sacred Shield, but honestly I’m not all worked over any of it. Most of the time the spill over from my Holy Light Glyph just went to Overheals anyway, though I will miss my FWOOSH 14k Heals.

The lovely Ferarro wrote up a pretty spiff ranking system of the changes, new glyphs and other super informative stuff. You should check that out here. Speaking of Glyphs… those are even more unexciting.

  • Glyph of Beacon of Light: Increases the duration of Beacon of Light by 30 seconds.
  • Glyph of Divinity: Now Lay on Hands grants 100% bonus mana, and that amount of mana is granted to the paladin and their target.
  • Glyph of Holy Light: Can no longer critically strike and has had its range updated.
  • Glyph of Holy Shock: Reduces the cooldown of Holy Shock by 1 second.
  • Glyph of Lay on Hands: Now reduces the cooldown of Lay on Hands by 5 minutes.

Still no good Minor Glyphs *grumble* and these are pretty much less than steller to be honest. They all sound cool, but honestly they aren’t much better than the Glyphs everyone already uses (Glyph of Seal of Wisdom/Light, Glyph of Holy Light, Glyph of Flash of Light) though I may swap out that Seal of Wisdom Glyph for the Holy Shock Glyph seeing as how I really don’t have mana issues. I might wait it out and see how I stand up in Ulduar10 first though.

And of course here is the list of “bug” fixes as well:

  • Beacon of Light: This spell no longer duplicates the heal on yourself if your target is currently immune to being healed due to being on a vehicle. It will simply not duplicate the heal. In addition, Divine Plea will only penalize the original heal instead of applying the penalty a second time on the duplicated heal.
  • Blessing of Wisdom: It is no longer possible to have the icon for this spell and Greater Blessing of Wisdom active at the same time (which didn’t give any benefit, but was confusing).

I never noticed the secondary penalty for my beacon target when Divine Plea was up, but if it was doing that I’m glad they caught it! I did notice the BoW glitch though and they’re right, it was a bit confusing and annoying in PuGs where I couldn’t control Pally Power.

So there you have it folks! There are some other interesting little things too like lots of new UI features but I’d like to see them before I go ranting off my opinions.

Good luck to all you feesh-lovers and if you aren’t yet, I’m sure you will be since they made it so darn easy for you!

5 comments

  1. I’m pretty interested to get my hands on my new Tankadin build. It seems like they took out some things (5 pts for Kings) and spread it around to things that I will need anyways (Spiritual attunement).

    You are correct though that they really didnt do anything crazy with us atm. Maybe they feel bad about what the’ve been doing to us since the game was created & now realize that we can be good so leave us the heck alone!

    wow sorry about that 🙂

    Hey, thanks for posting the new stuff since I cant get to it here at work.


  2. Haha ^5 Fuu – Leave us Pallies alone!

    I’m glad I kept you entertained at work, I only wish I knew more about Tankadins so you had something relevant to read =P


  3. The only thing I’m a little Peeved at atm is the Talent: Judgement of the Pure is no longer on the first tier. That was my 1 and only tie to the Holy tree. Now what to do with those 5 points.

    65-6 build… WoW thanks Blizz for yet another BLOATED Tree 😛


  4. I was pretty happy to see the 5 Frost Wyrm flasks I had in my bank turned in to “mixtures” that you click to make 2 of the 1 hour flasks. I was worried that I had wasted mats >.>


  5. Yeah I love the flask changes. It’s funny because when I pop one during our raids… I have 4 hours. I dont know about you but if it’s not a Naxx raid, I’m only using half of it. I love the flexibility of the 2 2hour ones instead. On a further note, weed picking is nice again! The nods spawn faster & have more herbs when you pick it! HURRAY!



Leave a Reply

